I Say, “Nay Nay”.

Happiest of Mondays to you EveryBUDDY! I hope this finds your week starting off stellar. Mine is a little less so. I have been sick for about two days now with some sort of stomach virus\ “oh, great what is this?!?” . You know the kind I mean. It appears from seemingly nowhere, and then decides to make your life miserable for an undetermined amount of time. Today the stomach part is better and I sound like a strangled chicken, because my throat is so sore. But anywho. Onward and upward we go, right? Strangled chickens be danged!

I missed yesterday’s post , for obvious reasons, so today will be the letter “N”, in our “26 Days ” Series.

So if you’re keeping up the list so far is…..

A: Acknowledge and Accept

B: Breathe.

C. Find  Comfort

D. Get a Doctor or team of them you can trust

E. Exercise ~ even if it’s just a scoonch ( Hey ! Scoonch is a word!)

F. Have Faith

G. Set a Goal , even if it seems small

H. Hugs! Everybody needs them!

I.  Sometimes we need, Isolation 

J. Rid yourself of Junk

K. Keep Kindness as a philosophy

L. Laugh long, laugh often!

M. Medications

That brings us to “N”. Now let me tell you this letter will stand for one of the most important things you will ever learn with chronic illness. It stands for “No. “So repeat after me…………………

7307202a9c16486a63d6018a6c24cae4

It really is true, I swear!! I am a “yes ” person. I always have been. I like making people happy, and I want people to smile. I never really cared if people “liked” me, I just enjoy doing things for other people. Which is not a bad thing, of course, until doing things for other people overrides your own sanity, well -being, and actual physical health.  I always felt like saying “No.” , was selfish. And then I got suuuuuuuuper sick.  But I was like, “It’s okay, I’m SuperWoman, right? I can still work, take care of the house, take care of all these other obligations, and be fine!”  The mind was willing………….the body said “Haha!”. It wasn’t happening. Everytime I tried to prove that I was indeed “SuperWoman”, I ended up in the hospital. Because that’s what happens when you go on too little sleep, too much running to and fro, and just enough insanity.  Lupus will kick your rearend down to the floor and say , “Stay there. ” So here comes the “No.”  I realized saying it was not selfish. I could say “No.” and people would still be alright.  As in , “No. I can’t make 200 cupcakes for Bible School for next week. ”  or telling one of my boys, “No. I cannot have 10 of your friends over all weekend. ” or of course the ever popular random kind -of a – friend who suddenly decides you are BESTIES and you absolutely MUST do this favor for them. Again , I say “No.”  Seriously. (add eye roll here) . It will not be worth it. And if people who ask can’t understand, here comes the other hard part, you must evaluate whether they are really your friends at all.

0de362870b91d902d0bd96d4ec56e44b

You must honor yourself. You only get this one go at life. And saying “Yes” to any and all things is not good for ANYBODY , really. Even people in fantastic health. For us, it’s downright disastrous. Make your list of things that you will say “Yes” to. And stick to it. Don’t let other people bully you into doing something that you know will leave you in the bed for a week. You are worth the “NO.”, I promise.

Oh, and if I haven’t said it today, I LOVE YOU!! with all my ❤ and 🙂 and as always ((HUGS)) ~ Ruby J.

Leave a Reply

