Uncategorized, world affairs, Writing

Inauguration Day~

In any moment of decision, the best thing you can do is the right thing, the next best thing is the wrong thing, and the worst thing you can do is nothing.  ~ Teddy Roosevelt 

That’s all a man can hope for during his lifetime – to set an example – and when he is dead, to be an inspiration for history. ~ William McKinley 

You have to think anyway, so why not think big? ~ Donald J. Trump 

It’s always good to be underestimated. ~ Donald J. Trump

483208412-real-estate-tycoon-donald-trump-flashes-the-thumbs-up-jpg-crop-promo-xlarge2

I’m taking a break from my lupus series to say a little about today. Now I make it my habit to never discuss religion or politics , as I figure most people’s minds are generally made up one way or the other on those subjects. But , this year has been some year hasn’t it? It’s been a long year, and it’s been a historic year. When I was little , I was a huge history buff. I loved reading about the Presidents, about American history, and I actually liked watching things like, “The McLaughlin  Group”, “60 Minutes”, and watching inaugurations. When I was about 5 or 6 years old, President Bill Clinton, who was then campaigning to be Governor of my home state, Arkansas, came to my hometown, and I got to meet him. I told my Mom I wanted his autograph, and when she asked me why, “I told her that , ‘That man is going to be President one day. ‘ ” . I still have that autograph , which some might consider to be a dubious distinction these days I suppose. But suddenly , when Obama became President, the fun had gone out of it for me. The liberals seemed determined to make anyone who didn’t agree with them miserable. How dare you have a conservative viewpoint? It was almost as if they wanted us to be sorry for “being American.” And as if they were sorry for all the things that had made us great for so long.  We’re brash. What of it? We say what we mean, and I know lots of other countries considered that less than classy. We’re loud, we’re rowdy, we don’t mind sticking up for ourselves, and if we don’t throw the first punch, we’ll sure throw the last one. These things seem to bother uber-liberals . Then came the Obama administration. And we were made to feel like less than citizens, because we didn’t agree with his policies. It wasn’t okay to have a dissenting opinion. Because if you did, you were racist, bigoted, ignorant, yukking-it – up yokels. Then came the campaign race of the century. And we were made to feel even MORE like it wasn’t our country anymore. Hillary Clinton  thought we were “deplorable”, thought “what difference at this point does it make?” , speaking about the deaths of the  very people whose job it is to keep us safe. Lied so much that she seemed to think we all must have the I.Q. of a good sized cabbage.  Then came Trump. And he was ALL the things that I mentioned before, brash, said whatever he thought (for good or naught), he’s loud, he’s often rowdy, and doesn’t mind sticking up for himself. People said he’d never have a chance, they said he’d never get the nomination, they said no one would vote for him. Not in a million years. But the press, the naysayers, those “in the know” , didn’t count on how tired we were. Tired of being told that our opinions didn’t matter, because we were the “little people”. Tired of being lied to.  Tired of feeling like our America didn’t matter anymore. But he DID get the nomination, he DID get elected. And I’m watching the inauguration right now. And I feel hopeful. I feel like politics is interesting again. I feel proud to be American. I don’t know what kind of a job he’s going to do. No one does! And that’s the thing. THAT’S AMERICAN!!  Everyone should get the chance to dream big, and get the chance to show what kind of job they can do. Maybe he’ll be great, maybe he’ll suck.  But as of right now, I feel proud. And in the words of the newest President , “What really matters is not if the government controls the country, but that the people control the country.  And that the nation exists to serve its citizens. These are just and reasonable demands , of a righteous people. ” I pray it is so. God Bless President Trump, and God Bless the United States of America 

download-15

Leave a Reply

