About Me~, chronic illness, humor, inspirational, Uncategorized, Writing

Laugh Long…………and Prosper

 

vintage-flower-border-clip-art-39140

Happy day that’s the day before Friday, everyone! 😀  No, seriously. I quit really counting what day it is, unless I have a doctor’s appointment to go to , or someplace I just have to be. I remember when my Grandpa was still alive, he was a self-employed farmer, and he would always ask me, “Well, PeeWee, what day is it?” And I used to think it was odd, but now I know , he didn’t NEED to know. He could do what he wanted. He was in his 80s and could have cared less really. He’s on my mind today. It’s raining again, and I think if he were still here, he’d be itching to have his garden plowed up. Funny , the things that strike you sometimes. He always knew just how to make me feel better. One of the best things he could do was tell stories. And sometimes without even meaning to , make you laugh. So in his memory today,  our letter being “L” and all, I think we’ll have a post about laughter.

 

d4786d1ac5b7af6ca242067911ec98fd

So if you’re keeping up the list so far is…..

A: Acknowledge and Accept

B: Breathe.

C. Find  Comfort

D. Get a Doctor or team of them you can trust

E. Exercise ~ even if it’s just a scoonch ( Hey ! Scoonch is a word!)

F. Have Faith

G. Set a Goal , even if it seems small

H. Hugs! Everybody needs them!

I.  Sometimes we need, Isolation 

J. Rid yourself of Junk

K. Keep Kindness as a philosophy

So we’re up to “L” or down to it, whichever way you want to look at it. There are actually a lot of good things I could say about “L” for us lupies. Things to do that start with “L” . Like lather in a luxurious bath.  Ladle liquid chocolate on literally anything. 🙂  Lay lazily on the lawn . But , hey , I had to narrow it down to one, okay? And I love to laugh. My Daddy is a huge practical joker, and also tells amazing hysterically funny stories. Like the time , he and his brother tried to catch a wild turkey using nothing but their hands.  ( They did, by the way. ) I got my Daddy’s sense of humor and my Mother’s good looks, so I think I did pretty well. Of course, mine and Daddy’s idea of funny is sometimes NOT other people’s idea of funny. I remember once when we were in the pre op area , not the actual rooms where they set you up with drugs, heh.  But the actual lobby thing. I was waiting to , of all things, have a hysterectomy. I was 24 years old. My Daddy and my husband came for backup. Well , Dad gets to telling jokes. Not rude jokes, ( he’s not like that.) But I mean, funny, split your sides, I can’t breathe jokes. He was trying to ease my stress , and make me feel better. If you could have SEEN the looks on some of the people in there, it was crazy. They acted like butter wouldn’t melt in their mouths.  As if, “How dare we be having a good time?!?”  , “This is a hospital, have some dignity!!”  Well, I hated to tell them, but if you’re in pre op, you’re about to lose your dignity pretty quick , anyways, when they put you in one of those “I Cee U” gowns.  🙂  But in all seriousness, I know things are tough in hospitals. Bad things DO happen there. But bad things happen everywhere. And if I had to be gloomy every time I WAS in the hospital, I’d have a pretty sucky outlook. If I was melancholy every time I felt bad, I would literally never HAVE a happy day. That’s what “normies” don’t understand. This IS EVERY DAY. From now til whenever. And I refuse to let it make me continuously sad. I want to laugh. I want my children to remember my sense of humor. I want other people to know it’s okay to laugh about this crazy thing we have going on . This crazy thing called life.  My Daddy has always said, ever since I can remember, “It’s ALWAYS better to laugh than to cry. ” So celebrate what you find funny! Watch the best funny movies, laugh with your favorite comedians, get your giggles in where you can. I promise , you won’t be sorry. Now, I can’t promise you won’t get some strange looks, lol, but that’s really their problem, isn’t it?

Oh ,and if I haven’t said it today, “I LOVE YOU!! with all my ❤ and 🙂 and  as always ((HUGS)) ~ Ruby J.

download-14

Leave a Reply

