From A to Z ~

Since today is the 5th of January, and there are 26 days left in this month, I am going to start a series of  alphabetical posts on things that have helped me , in dealing  with chronic illnesses. Each day will start with a different letter of the alphabet.  So without further ado, let’s get started! 🙂

Day ONE~

Acknowledge and Accept ~

86325f15770ee1a004e242e6ce2b50e0

Finding out you have an incurable disease is a shocking experience.  It hits hard, and it hits fast.  Lupus is called the “great imitator” of diseases, because it so often imitates many other things. This is part of what takes it so long to diagnose. The average diagnosis time for this brutal disease is five years, so by the end of a long and uphill struggle , most people have been called “crazy”, “attention-seeking”, or any other number of things. When we receive the news that there actually IS something going on, it’s tempting to go back to every person who doubted us, and shout to the rooftops……..”I TOLD you I wasn’t making it up!!”   .  🙂 However, as liberating as this news can be, many times we try to trick our brains into believing, “Everything is fine. My life is totally normal. “, and this is just not true. So number one on our list of “26 Ways” , is “Acknowledge and Accept”.  I must acknowledge that my life will forever be different from this point on. I must accept that chronic illness changes the VERY fabric of HOW I deal with every situation. These are not meant to be negative statements. Saying these things is NOT defeatist! If anything, saying that you accept these as facts, allows you to give yourself a break. It allows us to say, “I will have bad days, and in order to treat myself the best that I can, I need extra rest. I need to limit the stresses in my life. “, and “It’s okay that my life isn’t perfect. ” Accepting that chronic illnesses are our current reality, does not mean that we have lost hope for getting better, or for a cure. We simply acknowledge that this is , “Where we are right now. “, not necessarily, “Where we are going, or will end up. ” There is always hope! Hope for a better day, hope for more effective treatments, and of course hope that one day, these things will be eradicated.  Until then, we also accept that we as chronic illness warriors have each other’s backs, and acknowledge that we are so blessed to be in each other’s corners.  <3’s and 🙂 and as always ((HUGS)) ~ Ruby J.

 

Leave a Reply

