About Me~, Uncategorized, world affairs, Writing

I Ain’t Never Read Where It Says THAT….

You know I’ve got to thinkin’ about somethin’ over the last couple o’ days. ( People shakin’ their heads already, I hear yore marbles rollin’. Lord help us yore a’ thinkin!) Well, you know , I DO GET to thinkin’ occasionally. AND I got to thinkin’ about that sayin’ , “Well, I’m happy if you’re happy. ” And it occurred to me, I think that might be just about the single biggest load of rot I’ve ever heard in one sentence. Well, seriously. Think about it. Think about a time YOU , yourself have ever used that phrase . Was it ever in a situation when you were ever GENUINELY happy for said person? It wasn’t was it? It was more of a, “Lord have mercy, how did they get into that mess, I am just going to shake my head and say, ‘Well, I’m happy , if you’re happy.” But WHY?!? Who came up with such a stupid expression!?? When kids are two years old and want to get a blue mohawk and a nose ring you do NOT say yes, and say “Well, I’m happy if you’re happy.” Why? Because they’re TWO dadgum years old for cryin’ out loud! When they are ten and want to drive a car down the open highway while drinkin’ an alcoholic beverage, You don’t say Sure. I’m happy if you’re happy. Why not? Well for one thing it’s “agin”  the law, and for another they’re TEN YEARS OLD!!  So let me ask a genuine question. When did it become a normal thing to say, “I’m happy if you’re happy .” to someone you care about doing something equally as stupid? They wanna’ get drunk every weekend and drive themselves around, but sure we’re happy as long as they are. They wanna’ get married 9 times in a row , and wreck the lives of everyone around them, but hey why not? They’re happy , right? And I understand that people are “grown” .They can make their OWN decisions and don’t need my “input”.  I get that. They’re adults. Well, then you know what ? They oughta’ ACT like it. And I don’t reckon ANYWHERE in the Bible did I read it promises we DESERVE to be happy all the time. I ain’t never  read  where it says that.

Leave a Reply

