Uncategorized

Petrichor

Blacknwhiterocks

I love words. I have loved the sound of words , and  the human voice ever  since I can remember. My Daddy’s voice telling me things , teaching me the way of the world, while he held me in his big strong hands, is absolutely one of my first memories. My next oldest sister to me, is four  years older . She loved to play school. And I ,being the baby, was her student. ( Whether I liked it or not, ha!) I was 3 years old and she taught me to read.

576949_231009037042771_453078103_n

I do not remember a time in my life when I did not know how to read, or when I did not love the written word.  I suppose it follows then, that I love languages , of all sorts, because I think it’s true what they say , “There AREN’T enough words in the English language to describe how I feel right now!”  It’s funny ,I was just thinking about that this morning, when I found this online .  These are foreign words and I think they are really beautiful. Whether or not they’ll come in handy, I don’t know, but it might be fun to spring them on someone in everyday conversation! Here’s to lovely words. May we never lose our hunger to learn them.

P.S.  Here is another beautiful word . Petrichor . It means the smell of the earth before the rain comes. Coming from the Latin Petra, meaning rock. And Ichor, meaning blood. So , literally,  the blood of the rock. Very fitting , because what you smell is quite literally the ions in the water of the earth and rocks being drawn from them before the rain comes.

http://www.boredpanda.com/11-untranslatable-words-from-other-cultures/

Leave a Reply

