Forty -Nine~

handsomehubs

Stars Collide

Only sixteen, 

I was a mess of clumsy limbs, 

with my head going faster than my feet most days.

Tangled curls of black hair, forever in my eyes.

He was tall, 

his eyes as green as the leafy oaks in summer.

In that moment,

the world somehow seemed,

as if gravity were suddenly released .

And I knew, 

knew that if I didn’t make him mine,

I would fly off into space un-moored,

forever losing something 

cosmically wonderful.

So I took hold 

of his lumber-scarred hands,

and I’ve never let him go.

Ruby Jeanette Woods

Happiest of birthdays to the love of my life,

Thank you for all you are, and for making the world a kinder , gentler place.

I’m a better person because I know you.

Leave a Reply

