About Me~

All That Glitters~

timthumbnew

Well today is <3's day . You know the day everybody supposedly is supposed to celebrate their true loves with diamonds and chocolates and flowers. My husband and I are a bit of an odd couple I guess. We don't really DO Valentine's . I've always told people , "He shows me he loves me everyday, he doesn't need a holiday for an excuse." I do admit, he spoils me terribly. But not in the way that you would think. I guess I'm a bit odd too, in the fact that I'm not a jewelry person. I never have gotten people's fascination with diamonds. I've seen the shiny cases full of every type of ring, bracelet, bead and bauble. They glitter, and drive some of my girlfriends into the craziest state , causing them to say things to or about their husband like , "He'd better bring home jewelry , if he knows what's good for him. " Or , "I expect a ring at least!" all said in a serious manner. But, I mean they're ROCKS , people! They come up out of the ground just like any other kind of rock. Sure , they're polished up to look all gorgeous, but it's STILL just a ROCK. So I'm not a blingy girl. So does he bring me flowers ? Dozens of bouquets of velvety cut roses? No. I'm not really into that either. If he WERE going to buy me a rose, I'd prefer a live one you could plant in the yard and see bloom every year. But no, that's not how he spoils me. So what do I get from hubs that I think is better than the most expensive tiny thing in that famous turquoise box? After all , all that glitters is NOT gold. Treasure for me is found someplace else entirely. Books. I got BOOKS. Two fat hardbacks and a paperback. When I found them and said , "I can't choose! Should I get the Clive Cussler or the new Star Wars novel?" He said , "Why choose? ?" So don't turn me loose in Tiffany's or Xales . Give me Books a Million or the book aisle in Wal Mart , cause I think a 400 page novel beats a diamond bracelet any day of the week.

Leave a Reply

