Something in the Air~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well so much for me getting me here every day in January, *sigh*. January has not turned out at ALL like I thought it would. HEH. But then again, when does life EVER turn out like WE plan anyhow? It’s been kind of one of those whirlwind health months again. I HATE those. I ‘ve AGAIN been to neurology, cardiology, general practice, Emergency, hospitalized, and a new one for me sleepstudy. If you don’t know what that is , they hook wires up all over your skull, put two different types of sensors in your nose, two types of sensors on the sides of your throat, a band on your chest , a band on your stomach, and a set of sensors on each leg. They then watch you with an infrared camera while you sleep, and listen in while you snore, toss, turn or talk if you happen to do that too. Come to find out that my nightmare sleeping jags of 20 hours for days on end are caused by sleep apnea. On top of the fact that I have heart failure and don’t have good O2’s meaning oxygen saturation anyway, because of this sleep apnea I only am getting 80% oxygen to my brain and body at night . And apparently my body has become quite used to it, because it doesn’t bother to wake me up about it, for extended periods of time. They showed me on the screen after the test, that it took a a good stretch for my brain to decide that no air was a bad thing before I kicked my legs and woke my body up. So I get to go back and do another sleep study WITH a pressured mask on to get me set up with that , and see if this will fix me up. I guess the REALLY frustrating thing is , I’ve had heart failure for about 10 years now, taken God knows how much medicine, they ‘ve hospitalized me, done MRIs , Chest XRAYS, CTS, painful test, after painful test, hospitalized me, monkeyed with ALL my meds , I’ve done chemo, and literal $10,000 dollar a piece treatments, and not ONE of these doctors had the thought that ONCE, just ONCE that I might have needed AIR?!?!?!?!??? Good old OXYGEN?!?!?!? As my Daddy might have said, “Good Lord , the nuts are running the nut factory.” So not that this is going to CURE my heart failure OR my lupus , but it certainly is a HUGE stride towards seeing what’s going on with my body! Plus you know how I blogged that I felt as if my brain never shut off, that the thoughts continually went round and round, 24/7/365 , even in my sleep? Well, the funny thing is , NOW I have PROOF. They showed it on my brain wave reading. The nurse/tech told me, and I quote, “You have the strangest EEG wave sleep pattern I’ve ever seen . Almost freakish. I can’t wait to show it to my boss. I’m sure he’ll be intrigued. It’s like your brain never shuts off.” LOL šŸ™‚ So it seems everywhere I go , I some weird test case, and people want to look at my file. Maybe I should start charging people to WATCH ME, LOL šŸ™‚ (here’s to being the odd one out~ Jeanette)

4 thoughts on “Something in the Air~

Leave a Reply

