About Me~

GobSmacked~

clouds_storm_lightning_1366x768_3377

Have you ever had someone make you so angry , that you were struck with laughter? I mean literally ? You laughed? That the person could be so absolutely so gobsmackingly stupid as to say something so baldfacedly in-your-face that all you could do was to laugh? I have , and just today. And the problem was it was my teenage son that said it. I mean don’t get me wrong , I love my boys, and they are good boys. Just about 99.99 % of the time. But every now and again one or the other of them says something that you are just struck either completely dumb, struck with laughter, or with the absolute desire to run screaming for the hills. I know completely that my mother stood over a cauldron with herbs and a little stirring stick and said the words to curse me, for I have a child who is the spitting image of meself. In face, in body language, in compassion , (people tell me, not I, in heart also ) , oh but also , also , in that wee bit of rebellion that rises up and says ” Make ME. Just MAKE ME” And let me tell me you if it had not been for my dear old Dad , I swear I would not speak with a full set of teeth now, for I was twice the handful he is , I assure you. My mother earned every one of her beautiful grey hairs. I know I will make it through these times for they are 13 and 15 and we have not far to go, but whew. This morning I was tempted to run to my mother’s just up the hill and beg forgiveness for every gobsmacking thing I had ever said or done , and beg her to reverse the curse, but then I thought , “No , this is my due penance, and she is deserving of watching me pay it. ” Then I thought I shall go to the kitchen and get out a own cauldron this eve, and say some things of my own.

Leave a Reply

