The RAT RACE~

Gandalf-the-Grey-Fellowship-of-the-Ring-gandalf-35160583-900-380

I was never the kid picked first
or the one considered cool
I never had the popular clothes ,
I didn’t rule the school.
I was the kid in the corner ,
with the book shoved up her nose,

I lived caught somewhere in Narnia,
and sometimes in the Shire,
Bilbo was my neighbor,
Aslan my king , and Gandalf wizard higher.
Real people seemed to me the shades,
and books the living fire.

I know there were those
who thought that surely this was just a phase
Surely I’d grow out of this oddness!
And find a normal place!
I’m afraid they’re disappointed now,
for I’m of grown -up age.

I’m still not the kid picked first,
or the one considered cool,
I still don’t wear the popular clothes,
I don’t rule the school.
I live in my own little corner still,
with my book shoved up my nose.

I don’t really mind too much
I’ve found a whole new place.
there’s people just like me I found,
with books held to their face.
So don’t mind if you don’t fit in with the “norm”,
who needs THAT rat race?

5 thoughts on “The RAT RACE~

Leave a Reply

