About Me~

Words from the Wise~

dalyjp4

Good morning Ya’ll. That’s right, I said it. Ya’ll. I’m from the South. That’s South with a capital S, not the small ‘s’ thank you very much. I thought it’d be fun to write a post in my “native” language this mornin’ , so you all could get a taste of just how much fun it is to live here in Arkansas. And the topic of my post is gonna’ be, sayin’s that only Southerners would understand.Ya’ll ready to have some fun?

1. Lord, his bread’s in the oven , but the gas ain’t on.
there are myriad ways of saying this , such as, “He’s a few bulbs shy of a box.” , or in a new more modern Southern vernacular, “He’s a few fries short of a Happy Meal.”
Meaning: He’s not very bright.

2. I might’ve been born at night, but it wasn’t last night.
Meaning: Don’t try that stupid lie with me.

3. Finer than frog’s hair split four ways.
Meaning: This is the answer when asked “How are ya?” , and as we all know frogs don’t have hair , so you must indeed be doing well.

4. I could’ve just raised up and snatched ’em baldheaded.
Meaning :That person was very angry. Don ‘t mess with them.

5. That thang’s a little bit cattywhomped, or gollywogged, now ain’t it?
Meaning :Out of alignment , or seriously messed up.
Used in a sentence.” He built that house , and it was so cattywhomped , one side of the roof touched the ground.”

6″.Bless their little ole heart.”
Meaning: Not in kindness, as one might think. As in ,” The Johnsons just had their new baby, and it is SOOOO UGLY Bless their little ole heart.”

Of course, some of my all time favorite Southern sayings came from my Nan, who had so many her daughter has them written down, here are two:

7. Kiss me quick , an’ let me go, yonder come Paw with the grubbin’ hoe.
8. And my all time favorite , and a great piece of wisdom to live by

From the day you are born , ’til you ride in the hearse, things are never so bad that they couldn’t get worse.

Here’s to Southern wit and wisdom ~ Ruby Jeanette

3 thoughts on “Words from the Wise~”

Leave a Reply

