6 Small Things~

1266302_534859779920033_2003406761_o
~ My Daddy doing what he does best, welding , working , and smiling. ~

You know I’ve always been a Daddy’s girl. He had 3 before me, and I know he surely hoped for a boy with me, but I was what he got, so he told people “Well, that’s the only boy I’m ever gonna’ have, so I guess I’ll make do.” My Daddy’s a really wise man , too. Not school book learned maybe. He didn’t go to college and get all kinds of fancy papers to hang on his wall, but you don’t need those to say you’re smart. I got to thinking this morning it would be fun to write down some of the bits of wisdom my Daddy has taught me so far in life. You know, what good is wisdom , if you don’t pass it along? Hmmmm, let’s see, what would be the number one thing my Daddy would tell me since I was little?

1. Be proud of who you are. Don’t ever let anyone make you feel ashamed of where you came from. He came up poor, or as we say here in Arkansas PO, ’cause he couldn’t even afford the extra OR. People tried to make him feel ashamed of that his whole life, but he was never sorry he was raised up knowing the value of hard work, and the REAL value of a dollar.

2. DON’T DO BUSINESS with your family. It only complicates things. Emotions get involved. You’ll let them run you over like you wouldn’t let a stranger, and then people are forced to take sides . Or as my Daddy so famously says, “Family will do you over worse than anyone.”

3.DON’T start any fights , but DON’T be afraid to FINISH one. I was very small for my age, but my Daddy taught me not to be scared of anything or anybody. I once punched a guy twice my size right in the nose, just for refusing to shut up that I was wearing a dress. ( Not my usual attire)

4. NEVER STEAL. My Daddy hates a thief worse than any other thing. He doesn’t mean a man who would steal something to eat, or wear, or survive. But someone who steals because they are too lazy to get a job. Because it’s the easy thing to do. Steal from someone who works hard, and take it for themselves.

5.If you TELL someone you will do something , THEN DO IT. Otherwise, don’t bother. Liars run right underneath thieves on the list of things my Dad can’t stand. Your word should mean something. Respect, there is such a thing, and he STILL holds to it.

6. And lastly, probably the most important thing my Daddy ever taught me is that tell the people you love , every day that you love them. HIS father’s generation was not from the time where that was something you said. My Dad did not hear that from his dad . It wasn’t that he didn’t KNOW , but he didn’t HEAR it. My Daddy still tells me he loves me every day. He tells me , “You don’t know, might not be here this evenin’. Might not be here tomorrow. I love ya.”
If you didn’t believe in the 10 commandments these 6 things you could live by, I’ve used them in my life more times than I can remember, and they’ve carried me through so many places. They’ve gotten me jobs, made me friends, kept my home at peace , and filled my heart with almost more memories than it can hold. Thanks , Daddy, I love you.

Leave a Reply

