Tangled~

starfishzentangle

I’ve always loved to doodle, and I’m always looking for new and fun ways to express myself. I’m also kind of a Pinterest addict, so when I started seeing these doodle-type drawings there I couldn’t wait to find out more, and try it for myself. They call them Zentangles, or just tangles. They start off with just a doodle and kind of work their way out from there. Or you can draw a picture and use the tangles to “fill” the spaces of your drawing. There are tons of ways to do it, and it’s really relaxing. Some of them are really amazing, museum quality looking pieces. Of course, this one at the top of my post today is no where near that! But, hey it’s my first “tangle” , and I’m just getting started. I did find some books on Amazon about the “official” way to do these, apparently there is a copyrighted method, a website, tools, etc, with classes and everything, which of course they get paid to give, and the books are expensive. I’ve always kind of thought art should be fun, and available to everyone , so I looked on Amazon and found much less expensive downloadable books, and there is a neat website called http://tanglepatterns.com/ that shows you the way to do these also. I can’t wait to try some more patterns and see what other things I can doodle on ! If you’d like to give tangling a try , here is the website that I went to today http://tanglepatterns.com/ also here is the link on Amazon to one of the ebooks that I purchased as kind of a starter book with tangling patterns http://www.amazon.com/Fast-Freehand-Fills-Basic-ebook/dp/B00B09I8UE/ref=sr_1_25?ie=UTF8&qid=1366152277&sr=8-25&keywords=zentangles Plus , on Pinterest check out some of the amazing work that other artists have already done. Hope this gets you started to having fun with this neat idea!

Leave a Reply

