About Me~

Side Effects~

medicalbook

Be very careful of reading health books. You may die of a misprint. ~ Mark Twain

Ha. I love the wisdom of Mr. Twain. And I have found so many of his quotes to ring true. Possibly none truer than this one. It also applies to listening to the health advice of others. Trust me, when you have had a chronic disease for 15 years , you get used to hearing all kinds of ideas from all kinds of people. For some reason , even complete strangers feel entitled to tell you what you should be doing with your body . “Oh, you have lupus?” “You need to drink vinegar mixed with the toenails of a Brazilian tree frog while standing in the shower on the third Thursday of each month!” or, “My cousin’s aunt’s daughter’s nephew’s boss has that. She has this great doctor who prescribed this drug you can get, and it cured her!” And on and on it goes. You wouldn’t believe the things I’ve had people tell me. I used to get really upset, because when people say things like that, they make you feel like you aren’t “trying” to get well, or that you are “enjoying” being sick. Sometimes it made me feel angry , because it made me feel stupid, as in “Oh, ask my doctor about new medicines?!?! I would NEVER have thought of THAT on my OWN! But after 15 years, you begin to realize that people really just feel helpless. Especially your family , and those close to you, who want so badly for you to be okay. They see you in this terrible pain, and don’t know how to help you. They see that your body is turning against itself, and turn to whatever seems like a quick fix. And it would be wonderful if it really worked that way, but unfortunately it doesn ‘t. As this point in time, there aren’t any “quick fixes” or really even any “slow fixes” for lupus. Basically , we’ve got Band-aids. We use the Band-aids to keep us patched up and going as best we can. Of course sometimes all I want is to use the Band-aids to cover up people’s mouths when they are offering their “help”, you know. So, if you have lupus like me, and are getting unwanted advice, try not to take it too seriously. But also know that just because you love these people doesn’t mean you have to apply their advice or suggestions! You can certainly take Mr. Twain’s advice. So you don’t “die of a misprint”.

Leave a Reply

