About Me~

The Lord of the READS~

I’ve come to a serious conclusion. I have an addiction. Isn’t that the first step to getting help? Admitting you have a problem? My mom bought me a tablet. And I’ve discovered Kindle. A lot of the books are free! Did you know that? FREE!?! I had said once that I thought I would never get an e-reader because it seemed like treachery towards my love of the written word on paper. The smell of the paper, the feel of it. But there were so many books on there to choose from! And they’re FREE!!! And the little gadget just downloads them so fast. You look, click, and BADA -BING. It’s right there in the palm of your hand. And it will hold so many ! I have 285 books on mine already. Do you have any idea what that’s like? Of course, it also gets games like Angry Birds , which my kids think is just the best thing ever. I’m ashamed to say though, I’m kind of stingy with it. I mean it’s got my books on it! I get the feeling I kind of look like Gollum when they ask if they can borrow it. “My Preciouuussssssss! Mine!! They stole it from meeeeee…….”
But in all seriousness, the tablet’s nice to have when you’re in the hospital, or the doctor’s office. It beats having to lug 3 or 4 hardback books around, although I will never be able to give up my love of a big thick book. A tablet can’t quite match the feel of that!

4 thoughts on “The Lord of the READS~”

  1. I totally agree! I LOVE my kindle & when I download the free business books-I just read until I get bored then I’m done. It has given me a new found freedom to not finish a book!

    1. I don’t think I ever thought about it in quite that way. Books used to be prohibitively expensive, and the exclusive domain of the uber rich. They were treated with reverence and almost put out as display items rather than being read. I suppose with the availability of the written word today , it does cheapen it for some. But not for me! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

