Not One More Day~

Just had a great conversation with a friend. I’ve known her all my life, and we’ve always been able to talk to one another. We were talking and I mentioned that we’d been friends for so long, I can’t remember life when I didn’t know her. We were babies together ( got pics to prove it, lol) and we grew up spending our summers together at each other’s houses. I even call her Granny, my granny, and her uncles and aunts are like my extended family, as well. Even though we live too far to just run and visit one another now, we still make time to chat. She said something to me today that she hasn’t ever really told me before, and it sure meant a lot. She let me know that she appreciated so much me being there for her, no matter what, and that I had been strength to her in her rough times. Now you might say, “Well, so? You’ve been friends for 30+ years you much have known how she felt?!?” But the thing is, we may KNOW. We may understand without saying the words. But it’s so nice to hear it . Even though we have people in our daily lives, spouses, friends, children , those that we interact with on any kind of regular basis, don’t ASSUME they know how you feel. Don’t be too proud , or too busy to say, “I love you.” “Thanks for all you do.” Or even , “I’m so glad you are my friend.” As my friend so wisely put it, “I didn’t want one more day to go by, and have something happen. I didn’t want to tell your family, instead of you, how very much you meant to me.” I’m so glad she didn’t wait.

Leave a Reply

