Tomatoes and Time~

I am loving this weather! The garden is looking pretty good, I must say. Hubs has done an excellent job so far. I so hope to have tomatoes,peppers and onions for salsa. Nothing quite beats homemade salsa on a summer night. Unless, it’s fried squash, or cold homemade pickles. I know with the prices of everything these days, it probably really is cheaper to buy stuff than to grow it, but the taste is NOT the same, I don’t care what people tell you. It’s kind of why we grow our own eggs instead of buying them, even though chicken feed is expensive. You can even SEE the difference in a home farm egg, and a commercially grown egg. The yolks are bigger, more yellow, and more firm. They literally look like sunshine on the plate. If you ever put the two side by side, you’ll see exactly what I mean. Oh, and the richness of the taste of them , it’s out of this world! I just love a bright yellow farm egg omelet with fresh garden tomatoes. Dang. I ‘ve got my mouth watering now, lol. đŸ™‚
We really are blessed to be able to grow our own eggs, chicken meat and veggies. We are thinking about doing all heirloom varieties next year, and seeing how that works. I love being a farm gal, and getting my hands dirty. There is just something about it, it’s almost like a medicine for me. The smells and tastes of country air. We just live a lot slower, here, and take our own time with things. It’s all I’ve ever really wanted , even though I once had someone tell me that I didn’t know anything about the “REAL” world, because I had never lived anywhere but here in the “boonies”. But , you know what, I wouldn’t trade it for all the money in the world. I think I’d shrivel inside if I had to live in the “REAL” world.

Leave a Reply

