Band-Aid~

You know when people tell you” Enjoy it now, they’ll be grown before you know it?” Well, I am finding out how incredibly accurate that saying is. My oldest son is going to be 14 at the end of this year, and the youngest 12 years old. I guess it just sinks in with me……..the firstborn will be getting a driver’s permit, some small jobs, a vehicle………..a girlfriend!(shudder, shudder) The craziest thing about it, is that it just happens so gradually. It’s a moment by moment, little by little process. Every day they learn a small something that takes them closer to their goals of being an adult. Steadily moving forward to that uncharted land of adulthood. To me that’s almost more heart wrenching. It’s like peeling a Band-Aid slowly. It would almost be better to just rip it off , one swift jerk, then it would be to do it soooooooooooooo carefully. I mean , don’t get me wrong. I’m enjoying every day of being a parent, and I love my kids more than anything, and I don’t REALLY want them to be grown already. I guess really what I’m trying to say is , I’m being selfish. I want to keep them as pacifier sucking , onesie wearing, sippie cup drinking, kissable babies. I wish sometimes that we were still doing the baby powder bottoms, and the tiny shoes and clothes. I miss the “Hold me Mommy’s !” and the “Kiss my owies.” Of course , there are some things I DON”T miss. I don’t miss 2 am feedings. Or the constant , “NO! Don’t do that’s !” I am grateful that they are maturing into young men and not just young boys. I hope whatever time I have had with them , has made them people the universe needs. And I pray that whatever time I have left to shape them, I put it to good use. So, I know that for every day that I pull the Band-Aid back a little further, that they are growing up, and maybe, just maybe, I am too.

2 thoughts on “Band-Aid~

  1. I totally relate to this post. I’m waiting up for my son (who turned 16 last week) to come home from a date. Yikes! Fortunately, I have my 7 year old asleep here beside me (dad’s been in bed for more than an hour now). I miss having little ones. But is sure is fun watching them grow!

Leave a Reply

