Acceptance~

I might as well be myself. Everyone else is taken. ~ Oliver Stone

Ever hear that saying, “You can’t be all things to all people.” ? Well, as I grow older, I am learning that it’s very true. You can’t even really be all things to some people. As the years go by, I ‘m beginning to think you can’t even be all things to ONE person. That kind of limits your world and theirs. And it’s a way bigger job than one person could fill. If you are depending on another person to make you happy to that degree, I’m afraid you will be disappointed. Deeply. It’s just too much pressure. No one can live up to all our expectations without failing. We are after all , just fragile human beings.
A big part of expecting someone else to make you happy is that it involves changing them on some fundamental level. It’s a sad truth. Sometimes we become involved with someone, for certain reasons, and then as time goes by, we force them to change the part of themselves that attracted us to them in the first place. We abrade the edges of the square peg to better force it into our round hole. And then find we don’t like the individual who comes out the other side. So, is that our fault or theirs? Maybe a little of both. We should not be so rigid in our ideas of what we want, and they should not be so flexible as to lose themselves that completely in another person.
So when you find yourself in one of those situations, ask yourself, “Is this carrying me closer to the person that I want myself to be, or further away?” . Sometimes we just have to make a stand, and say , I can’t be all things to all people. I can only be ME.

One thought on “Acceptance~

Leave a Reply

