How Much Blood Did You Say You Needed?~

Well, I just arrived home from my most recent “luxury hotel stay” (aka. hospital stay. Hey, if the price fits…..) I guess I should start from the beginning, or at least give you the general idea. I have lupus. I have been diagnosed with it since I was 19. I’m 33. So, I’ve had my share of hospital, ER , and doctor visits. It becomes a regular part of your life, whether you want it to, or not. Lupus of any kind , is not fun. It turns your life into the worst kind of rollercoaster of physical , emotional, and spiritual proportions. And not only a roller coaster , but a roller coaster ride for a terribly motion sick person, who’s afraid of heights and fast moving vehicles.
Lupus can come in all kinds of forms. It can affect you anywhere in your body at any time. I have a particularly tricky kind, called systemic lupus erythemotous. With organ involvement. Mine particulary seems to have taken a shine to my heart, which is wear the trouble started this weekend.
I had my gallbladder taken out about a month ago, (completely un-related to lupus) , THEN I got the stomach flu, and THEN I got dehydrated. Of course, I was also exhausted , ( wonder why? 😉 ) and apparently your heart doesn’t operate at it’s best under those conditions. And if you already have a weakened heart, well…..fill in the blanks. So Saturday after another round of heaving my dinner up, I experienced the WORST chest pain I have ever felt. You know it’s bad when the EMS guys say rate your pain on a scale of 1-10 and you just know you would kick the guy if you could find the strength. We’re talking 18 wheeler rollin’ over ya’, ride to the top of the world G- force sized pain. And the vertigo and nausea?!? Fuhgeddaboutit. Like eating 2 dozen donuts, a whole bag of pink cotton candy, drinking a blue slushie and then deciding to go on the tilt- a – whirl. So, off for the ambulance ride, I went , to the local hospital, 10 miles away, so they can be sure I can make the 60 mile ambulance ride to the “big” hospital.
Well, after a day and a half of enjoying the hospital’s hospitality , (and thinking to myself multiple times, “How MUCH blood did you say you needed?!?”) 2 CT scans, 6 X rays, 2 Gamma scans ( different from an X ray, not sure how) , 1 chemically induced stress test, 2 stomach injections, one upper glute ( rear- end for us unsophisticated types) injection, 6 blood draws, 2 attempted IV tries , 1 successful, 6 doctors, a whole slew of nurses, techs, and people whose titles I may never know, I am home.
It was decided it all amounted to lupus. See , lupus can give you a bad time when you’re feeling comparatively healthy. But , when your immune system gets down from other factors, it just takes the reins and runs with it. And pretty much all you can do is just hang on, medicate yourself as the doctors order , and wait for it play out.
So anywho, despite all that, I think I ‘m on the mend, or getting there anyway. Well, at least I left with my sense of humor intact because when the doctors recommended that I take a little better care of myself, and maybe try to rest more, and do less, I just kind of looked at them cross-eyed, and said , “Uh, you DO know I have children, right?”

4 thoughts on “How Much Blood Did You Say You Needed?~

  1. I give you a lot of credit for finding the humor in your adventure so quickly. It would take most people quite a bit longer to start seeing the lighter side of this type of ordeal. Great post, very funny, I hope you’re feeling better!

    • Thanks , Frank! It’s almost always better to laugh than cry, and in almost 15 years of dealing with this disease, I’m starting to get the hang of the humor! I am going to feel better everyday, I’m sure. Thanks so much for the nice comments, I hope this finds you having a great day of your own! ((HUGS))

  2. With it being spring, it seems like everyone is going ‘lets go’, ‘come on’, ‘wanna go?’ yea, we wanna plant flowers and ride motorcycles and sew Easter dresses and bask in the sunshine…. But we just can’t. And there’s no way to describe ‘yes I want to, I just can’t…’ I feel like a toddler or an old lady trying to keep up with bob working in the yard.

    • Oh, I hate the old lady/toddler feeling! And unless they haven’t been there they REALLY don’t understand the level of fatigue, do they? And basking in the sun? How I miss that feeling! I’m trying every day to focus on the things I still CAN do, but sometimes it’s very hard isn’t it? Thanks so much for all your comments and input, and I hope you have a great day today, together , we’ll keep our heads up high! ((HUGS))

Leave a Reply

