About Me~

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bananas~

or ~ Three Things I Have No Patience For~

Do you consider yourself a patient person? Do most things just run right over you , like water off a duck’s back? I have not always been a patient person, in regards to things I want. I used to say , jokingly, “Lord , give me patience. And give it to me now!” I suppose some of my attitude in that department was the fact that I was the baby of the family and to some extent I got everything I wanted , pretty much WHEN I wanted it. Yes, I was on the spoiled side. It’s easy to be impatient when you get treated like that regularly. I am a lot more willing to wait for “things” I want these days.
However , there are some “things” I don’t think ANY one should have to wait for.

1. Self-respect~ All people deserve respect. To be treated decently. To be spoken to with kindness . Despite their looks, age, political standpoint, religion, moral views, anything! People really ARE just people, and want the same things to a basic degree. If a person refuses to acknowledge your humanity with respect, dignity and care……..then don’t wait! Eliminate that person from your intimate life until they can learn differently.

2. Good service in a place of business~ This sort of ties in with number 1. I used to wait tables for a living. My first boss taught me that when a patron walks in , you make eye contact. Even if you are the only person behind the counter, and your hands are full, you make eye contact. Then you say, “I’ll be right with you!” Don’t ignore them. Don’t avoid them. Be polite. Treat that person as if they are the most important person in the world, because they are! They are the customer, and they are what is keeping you in a job! You wouldn’t believe the people who can’t grasp this concept. Or you probably would believe it, cause it happens everywhere these days. If a business refuses to treat you like the best thing since sliced bananas, :), go elsewhere!

3. Good medical care~ You only get one life. One body. One run at your health. Doctors can be your greatest friend , or your worst foe. Trust me when I say this, I have years of experience. This concept actually goes hand in hand with ideas 1. and 2. Respect and service. If you can’t get either from your physician, it’s time to pack your bags and go elsewhere. I’m serious as a heart attack about this. They should talk to you like a person, not a lab rat. They should explain EVERY thing. They should want what’s best for you and your extended family. They should listen, listen , listen! This absolutely will not wait. Don’t be patient. Don’t expect , and expect for it to get better. Take charge of your own health!

So there you have it. A list of things I think you should have no patience for. Life is too short to just let some things go. I think these are three of them.

Previous Answer
ave No Patience For~

Leave a Reply

