About Me~

Laughter in Pre-Op~ ( and I know the picture is kind of strange……lol :)

Happy Smiley Face from Urine Samples

I have to say that I love to laugh!  There is nothing like it, even when you feel terrible.  I get a lot of laughs from my husband, who has a really dry sense of humor.  I  love to be around my two boys because they have something witty, or weird to make me laugh just about anytime.  But, if I had to say there is one person I can absolutely depend on for a laugh anytime, it’s my Dad. He has the greatest funny stories, and jokes ever.  I have had to have a lot of surgeries, and medical things done in the past few years.  I call my Dad my comedic backup because when he comes with me, we always have a lot of laughs.  Yes, even in the OR waiting room, or pre op!    I had to have a serious surgery about 9 years ago, and my Dad, and hubby came with me.  It was snowing, with about an inch of ice under it, and a normally one hour drive, took 3 hours.  We arrived shaken but not stirred, and settled in to wait on my surgery time.  Daddy started telling his jokes and stories and before very long, hubs and I were nearly rolling.  You wouldn’t believe the dirty looks we got!  People just could not understand.  It was as if they thought, “How DARE we be having a good time in the hospital!!”  I understand that hospitals can be scary places.  Surgery itself is not fun.  Neither is being in pain.  But , I want people to realize something.  That even though we are having surgery , or in pain, or just going through something terrible, laughter can be a lot of fun.  It will take your mind off of what you are going through.  So, next time you find yourself in between a rock and a hard place, don’t forget to find the funny.  It might do you good!

Leave a Reply

