Which Would You Choose?

horse eye

I've always had an affinity to animals. Growing up, I was kind of a strange kid, and did not have very many friends my own age. I spent a lot of time by myself, outdoors . Animals were my companions wherever I went. I can't remember a time when I didn't have at least one dog, cat, or horse to keep me company on my journeys. I don't think I ever felt alone as long as I was with my furry friends.

I'm not sure what it is about animals that makes them such wonderful parts our lives, but my biggest thought on that is that they never judge. They don't care if we are fat or skinny. If we combed our hair or not. If we have the latest in fashions or cars. They listen every time we talk. They almost seem to even nod, or smile when we need them to.

Some of my favorite memories ever are of my big Paint/ Quarter Horse cross, Spot. He was huge. He was 18 hands high, weighed 1100 pounds and wore the biggest shoes that the farrier carried. But he was a gentle giant. I used to go to the barn and find him while he was lying in the hay. He'd whicker at me as if to say , "Come on in!" I would open the gate and he would let me sit with my back to him and pour out my heart to him. Sometimes we would just sit and neither of us would "say" anything. Those were some of the best times of my young life.

If someone ever asked me, "If you could be any animal, which would you choose?" I'd say I want to be a horse. Swift of feet, gentle of heart.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

