About Me~

29 Days~

Today is the first day of February.  I know the 14th is Valentine’s Day, and that is the “traditional” day to give gifts , cards, and sentiments.  But in case you haven’t noticed, I ‘m not much for tradition just for the sake of it.  I like to do things differently, so I’ve decided for every day in February I would write about something that I love or appreciate in those I have in my life.

I’m going to start off with my husband of 15 years.  I guess the first thing I want to say is when he said in sickness and in health, the poor man definitely did NOT know what he was getting himself in for!  In our 15 year together, I have had 5 surgeries, spent many , many weeks in the hospital, had literally HUNDREDS of doctor’s visits, been in a wheelchair, used a walker, been unable to drive or care for myself for weeks at a time, unable to cook, clean, do laundry , and basically just been of no physical use to anyone for long periods. I ‘ve ballooned up to nearly 200 pounds and temporarily lost a lot of my hair.  Without complaint he has held my hand while I was in tremendous pain, held my head while I vomited, and just held me while I cried.  He has pushed me in a wheelchair up and down the hallways and sidewalks of Children’s Hospital, when our son was hospitalized there after his premature birth.  He has worked at crummy jobs just so we have money to eat, and pay bills.

All this from a man who never set out to get married, or have children of his own.  When the going got tough, he didn’t give in, give up , or give out.  He never said once that he was sorry for marrying me, or that this was not what he signed up for.  He has never said that anything was too hard, or been anything less than supportive.  He never tells me “Why can’t you just get over this?”, or  “This is your fault.”

So for anyone who says that there is no real love left in this world, I would have to say you’re wrong.  I have seen real love.  I have had the privilege of living with it every day , in every moment, for the last 15 years of my life.

And even though these words would never be enough to show it, I want to say them anyway.  “I love you .  And for all you ‘ve done, thanks , babe.”

3 thoughts on “29 Days~”

  1. When you make that commitment, Men and Women are supposed to be there for each other. Stand beside to support and share, Stand behind to say “I’m behind you 100%”, Stand in front of, to protect. It is and should be this way for all who take those vows that promise to Love, Honor and Cherish. To give you that hand across your brow when your sick, To hold onto your elbow to steady your way. To look into your eyes so you can see them telling you they Love you unconditionally, regardless of your ailments. Unfortunately it doesn’t happen that way very often anymore. People just don’t respect each other as much as they used to. Your marriage is a Testimony of what God does for you. When God decided that you needed each other, He made it happen. You are so lucky Jeanette, to have found your Knight. Real husbands are few and far between, the ones who are in it for the long haul. Good or bad. You both are an angelic example to others.

Leave a Reply

