Uncategorized

What I'm Irrational About

Penguin Stationery Set

I'm completely irrational about stationery. No, not just staying still in one place. Stationery. As in paper, pens, stickers, envelopes , ink pens, stamps, fountain pens, all of it. I 've got boxes and boxes of the stuff. Thick floral letter sized pages. Cards with gorgeous embossing.

The smell and feel of the paper. Even the taste of the envelope glue. I'm not sure what the draw of it is , really. I think a big part of it is the IDEA of a handwritten note, or card. I mean , think about it. When was the last time you got a really neat handwritten card or letter? People are obsessed with the instant communication we have now. I'm not saying all of it's a bad thing (Obviously , I'm on here now!) . But there is just something special about a letter. You wouldn't print all your emails out , put a bow around them, and place them in a special box , would you? See, it's just not the same.

I still handwrite a ton of my correspondence. I guess it's just a way to stay a little closer to the ground, instead of up in the ether with all the digital missives. If you get time, drop a handwritten letter to someone you know. Maybe even someone you haven't talked to in a while. You might be surprised how much it means to them.

Powered by Plinky

1 thought on “What I'm Irrational About”

  1. I have been at the receiving end of one of those hand written notes. Your right, it makes you feel really special to know that someone cared enough to take that much time. That they felt you worthy. Thank you for making me feel like I have worth. Love you!

Leave a Reply

