Minimum Hours of Sleep I Need to Function

or the Curse of the Ticking Clock….

Clock

HA! This brings back memories! Let me tell you something about sleep, or the lack thereof…….

For those of you who are parents this post will come as no surprise. For those of you who don't have kids, read on and see part of what awaits you, bwahahahahahaaa…..

Children rob you . This is a fact. They rob you of your time, your money, your sleep, and eventually just a teensey bit of your sanity! Now, before you get the wrong idea, I LOVE my children! They have made me a mother, a teacher, and just generally a better human being. But , I have to tell you something else too. I literally lived on about 2 hours of sleep per day for over five years. That tick, tick , ticking of the clock became my enemy. A nemesis sworn to thwart my every desire! My oldest son's routine consisted of this……wake up at 4 am every morning. Go all day without a nap. Stay up until 1 or 2 o'clock in the morning. Crash. Wake up 10 or 15 minutes later, and then every 10 minutes after that. Get up for good at 4 am. Start over. This went on for two straight years. Then my youngest son was born. POOF! Oldest son immediately starts sleeping through the night. Yay! Mom will get some sleep now, right? Ha. No. Youngest child has no idea what sleep means. Think of the routine I just described for the first baby. Then add in something called "night terrors". Oh, yeah. It's every BIT as fun as it sounds. Night terrors is a sleep disorder characterized by episodes where your child appears to be awake, but is literally having a panic attack in their sleep . Screaming, flailing around, kicking, hitting, walking around in their sleep, crying, saying the monsters or whatever are coming, and you CAN'T get them to wake up! This goes on every hour or so , all night. You know your having a bad go of things when you take your 2 year old with you to the doctor and the recommendation is Valium. For the 2 year old. I didn't take them up on it, because I mean, seriously? But, yes, it really was that bad. He did not sleep through the night until he was five years old.

If it had not been for my husband and my mom , I probably would be in one of those rubber rooms by now. I lived for the moment when my hubby walked in the door from work, I passed him the baby and said, "Here . Your turn.", so I could zombie walk to the king-sized.

I always tell people if I am ever captured by some group of evil meanies, and they try to break me with sleep deprivation……I can just laugh and say, "Oh , please." Been there, bought THAT T-shirt.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

