Something I'd Like to Learn More About

and a few things I wouldn’t …….I ‘ve got a whole huge list of things I ‘d like to learn more about! I don’t have enough hours in the day to take in everything I’d like to know.

I have children so I’m interested in herbal healing for them and myself. I homeschool so I’m always looking for new books or ideas for curriculum. I love to draw and paint, so anything in that department catches my eye. I cut all my family’s hair so I’d really like to get a couple of books on that subject as well. I love to try new recipes, so I’ve got a few cookbooks stacked at the end of my sofa …..along with some poetry books, three or four journals of my own, a sci fi series, some non fiction medical, gardening, textbooks, etc. My husband is always asking when I’m going to move my “library” off the floor from by the lamp!

So, I guess the question isn’t what would I like to learn more about? But what am I NOT interested in?

I can think of a few.

I’m not interested in why the world is so twisted. It just always has been , and always will be.

I’m not interested in hatred, or why people feel compelled to hurt one another. That’s just another one of those things.

I’m not interested in shallow people, or why they think the world revolves around them.

I’m not interested in those who only look to the beautiful people, thinking that they somehow have more answers than those of us who are plain.

I’m not interested in learning more about being petty, or selfish, or deceitful.

I only want to be learn about those things that will brighten up my corner of the world. Make someone laugh, or think about something in a different , more positive way.

I hope that somehow, some way, anything I know, or learn , only helps me accomplish those things!

Powered by Plinky

This post first blogged, December 21, 2011

3 thoughts on “Something I'd Like to Learn More About

  1. Hi there! I’m new to your blog, and I have to say that I LOVED this post! I am also a homeschooler, with very inquisitive children (two boys, ages 7 and 12) that have many things on their “let’s find out about this” list. Often, their lists end up becoming my “huh, I didn’t even know I WAS interested in this, but thanks to them I am” list. 😀

    I think that’s a great idea…posting about what you are NOT interested in . I may have to share that idea on my own blog, lol. Again, I enjoyed reading this. Looking forward to reading more of your blog! Hope you and your family are having a wonderful holiday season!

    Katie
    One mom who could write an essay on accidental homeschooling…

  2. Wow! Thanks Katie! It’s always great to meet a fellow homeschooler and lover of learning! I’m glad you enjoyed my post, and I loved your thought on your children leading the learning process. That’s awesome! I hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday season also! 🙂

Leave a Reply

