A Terrible Lie To Tell~

a poem

211/365 Truth

I don't think it's ever okay to lie. And not for the reasons most people think. Not because it causes problems with your relationships with others, but because it seems to take a little piece of your own soul every time you do. One of the most terrible lies we tell is trying to change ourselves into someone or something else for another person. We want so much for them to like us, or for them to stay in our lives, that we say and do things we know don't fit our own personalities, and souls. I finally had to decide I was just going to be me, and people will either like me or not. But the cost of becoming a completely different person was too high for me.

Opposite Ends~

I'm a little confused I guess,

I don't understand why.

Why you hurt me all the time,

and try to make me cry?

I know that I'm not perfect,

but I never claimed to be.

I only know one way to live,

and that's just to be me.

I get that we're polar opposites,

you're the sun and sandy beach.

I'm winter , cold and drifting,

the moon you cannot reach.

I'm sorry I can't be the person,

you need me to be.

I don't know how to change it,

so I'm setting myself free.

I'm one thing and you're another

and I'm tired of playing games,

I'll always be just who I am ,

I'll always be the same.

It hurts that you don't want me,

but I have to let it go,

I can't take these lies anymore,

they're bruising up my soul.

So now you're free to be the person

you want so much to be.

I'm just here in the shadows, now

so don't worry about me.

I'm going on with what I have,

and leaving you behind.

I hope you have much happiness,

and peace to soothe your mind.

I'll always hold a prayer for you,

and hope you'll say the same.

I'll save the good times in my heart,

and never forget your name.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “A Terrible Lie To Tell~

Leave a Reply

