My Favorite Old Movie

Picture Show

Josie’s Declaration of Independence (cinema 1914)

Well, I guess the problem would be choosing just one! I guess some of my favorite times are tied to old movies. Westerns, and war movies being first among them. On Saturday night , on public television there used to be a program called the Saturday Night Matinee, and they always showed a 40s , or 50's era movie. Doris Day, John Wayne, Gary Cooper, Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, all the greats were showcased. I remember loving sitting with Daddy and eating popcorn while trying to memorize the lines , and grab a little of that magic from the screen for myself to carry .

On Sunday mornings the program was called the Good Times Picture Show, and it showcased B movie westerns. It was great seeing John Wayne in the 30s "singing" , and Gene Autry riding and playing his guitar. I remember thinking that surely in real life, all the good guys wore white, and the bad guys could be identified by their mustaches.( Wouldn't that be great , if it were true? )

But, I guess if I had to choose a favorite old movie it would probably be Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn in "Bringing Up Baby" . It's got to be one of the funniest things I've ever seen! It was made in 1938 and features a real live leopard. My sister and I used to watch it over and over again, on VHS . Soon we could quote every line, and loved to have people stare at us while we quoted random snippets from the dialogue.

A close second in my favorite old film contest would have to be the Marx Brothers' "A Day at the Races" from 1937. I used to run around with a bike horn pretending I was Harpo. My sister would interpret for me. I look back now, and think people must have really thought we were odd. But we were having a blast!

Who'd have thought old films could make you feel so many different things, and give you so many memories?

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

